Whitley Awards Ceremony 2018

All Categories Conservation NGO News
Announcing this year’s winners!

The 25th Anniversary Whitley Awards Ceremony was held on 25th April 2018 at the Royal Geographical Society in London. The Ceremony was hosted by WFN Ambassador, Kate Humble, with the Whitley Awards presented to the winners by WFN Patron, HRH The Princess Royal, in front of over 600 guests. For the first time, the Ceremony was live-streamed to the world, doubling our audience.

The Winners of the 2018 Whitley Awards are:

Winner of the Whitley Gold Award donated by The Friends and Scottish Friends of the Whitley Fund for Nature, Pablo Borboroglu: Global penguin conservation

Winner of the Whitley Award donated by WWF-UK, Munir Virani: Game of poisons: a strategy to save Kenya’s threatened vultures

Winner of the Whitley Award donated by The Corcoran Foundation, Kerstin Forsberg: Majestic giants: safe passage for manta rays in Peru

Winner of the Whitley Award donated by Arcus Foundation, Dominique Bikaba:  Ensuring the survival of DRC’s eastern lowland gorillas

Winner of the Whitley Award donated by the William Brake Charitable Trust in memory of William Brake, Shahriar Caesar Rahman: Tortoises in trouble: community conservation of Asia’s largest tortoise, Bangladesh

Winner of the Whitley Award donated by the Garfield Weston Foundation, Anjali Chandraraj Watson: Leopards as a flagship for wildlife corridors, Sri Lanka

Winner of the Whitley Award donated by the Savitri Waney Charitable Trust, Olivier Nsengimana: Conserving Rwanda’s emblematic grey crowned crane

Photographs of the ceremony and reception can be found here and photographs of the winners receiving their awards, along with images of their work can be found here.

Find out more about the Whitley Fund for Nature here.